"The Christianity of history is not Protestantism. If ever there were a safe truth it is this, and Protestantism has ever felt it so; to be deep in history is to cease to be a Protestant." (-John Henry Newman, An Essay on the Development of Christian Doctrine).

"Where the bishop is, there let the people gather; just as where ever Jesus Christ is, there is the Catholic Church". -St. Ignatius of Antioch (ca 110 AD)a martyr later thrown to the lions, wrote to a church in Asia Minor. Antioch was also where the term "Christian" was first used.

“But if I should be delayed, you should know how to behave in the household of God, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and foundation of truth.” 1 Timothy 3:15

"This is the sole Church of Christ, which in the Creed we profess to be one, holy, catholic and apostolic." -CCC 811

Monday, March 16, 2009

Pope Benedict XVI African Papal Visit

March 17-23 (today until Monday) is the planned visit of His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI to the African Continent. As Vicar of Christ and the Successor of St. Peter the Apostle, he’s meeting Christ in that continent invigorating the hope the African people have in Christ and animating the Spirit that has kept their Christian faith through centuries. Through this visit, we Catholics should pray for the Pope’s visit and himself as well that God may protect him through the maternal protection of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Let’s entrust this whole Papal visit embracing the whole continent of Africa to the Lord Jesus who willed all people to be saved.

Here’s the message of Pope Benedict XVI for this trip translated by Joseph G. Trabbic taken from Catholic.Org. Origin of the message came from Zenit.Org:

Dear Brothers and Sisters!

I will be making my first apostolic visit to Africa from Tuesday, March 17, to Monday, March 23. I will travel to Cameroon and to its capital, Yaoundé, to deliver the “instrumentum laboris” for the Second Special Assembly for Africa of the Synod of Bishops, which will take place in October here in the Vatican. From there I will travel to Luanda, the capital of Angola, a country that, after a long civil war, has found peace again and is now called to rebuild itself in justice.

With this visit I intend to embrace the whole African continent: its thousands of differences and profound religious soul; its ancient cultures and its toilsome road to development and reconciliation; its grave problems, its painful wounds and its enormous possibilities and hopes. I intend to confirm the African Catholics in faith, to encourage the Christians in their ecumenical commitment, and bring to all the announcement of peace that the Lord has entrusted to his Church.

As I prepare myself for this missionary journey, in my soul resounds the words of the Apostle Paul that the liturgy proposes for our meditation on this third Sunday of Lent: “We proclaim Christ crucified,” the Apostle writes to the Christians of Corinth, “a scandal to the Jews and foolishness to the pagans; but for those who are called, whether Jews or Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God” (1 Corinthians 1:23-24).

Yes, dear brothers and sisters! I depart for African with the awareness of having nothing else to propose and give to those whom I will meet if not Christ and the Good News of his cross, mystery of supreme love, of divine love that defeats all human resistance and in the end makes forgiveness and love of enemies possible. This is the grace of the Gospel that is capable of transforming the world; this is the grace that can renew Africa, because it generates an irresistible power of peace and of deep and radical reconciliation. The Church does not pursue economic, social and political objectives; the Church proclaims Christ, certain that the Gospel can touch the hearts of all and transform them, renewing persons and society from within.

On March 19, during the pastoral visit to Africa, we will celebrate the Solemnity of St. Joseph, patron of the universal Church, and my personal patron. St. Joseph, warned in a dream by an angel, had to flee with Mary to Egypt, in Africa, to take the newly born Jesus to a safe place, far from King Herod who wanted to kill him. The Scriptures were thus fulfilled: Jesus followed in the footsteps of the patriarchs of old and, like the people of Israel, reentered the Promised Land after having been in exile in Egypt. To the heavenly intercession of this great saint I entrust this upcoming pilgrimage and the peoples of all of Africa, with the challenges that face them and the hopes that animate them.

I think especially of the victims of hunger, disease, injustices, of the fratricidal conflicts and of every form of violence that, unfortunately, continues to strike adults and children, without sparing missionaries, priests, religious, and volunteers. Brothers and sisters, accompany me on this trip with your prayers, invoking Mary, Mother and Queen of Africa.


For the program of the Pope’s African Visit, here’s his itinerary from Zenit.Org:

The press office of the Holy See released the Pope's official program for his apostolic trip to Cameroon and Angola, which will take place March 17-23.

The Pontiff will depart from Rome's Fiumicino airport the morning of Tuesday, March 17, and arrive at 4 p.m. in Yaounde, Cameroon. Government officials will greet him.

On Wednesday, March 18, the Holy Father will make a courtesy visit to the President Paul Biya of Cameroon at Unity Palace in Yaounde.

That same day Benedict XVI will meet with the country's bishops at the Church of Christ the King in Tsinga, then celebrate vespers with local clergy and with representatives of ecclesial movements and of other Christian confessions in the Basilica of Mary Queen of the Apostles.

On Thursday, March 19, the Pope will meet with Muslim leaders of Cameroon at the apostolic nunciature.

At 10 a.m. he will celebrate Mass at Yaounde's Amadou Ahidjo stadium, which will mark the publication of the "instrumentum laboris" of the Second Special Assembly for Africa of the Synod of Bishops.

At 4:30 p.m. the Pope will meet with sick people in the Cardinal Paul Emile Leger Centre. Later he will pronounce an address before members of the Second Special Assembly for Africa of the Synod of Bishops.

Political leaders

On Friday, March 20, the Pontiff will travel from Yaounde to the Angolan capital Luanda where he is due to arrive at 12:45 p.m.

Following the welcome ceremony at the airport, Benedict XVI will visit Angolan President José Eduardo dos Santos at the presidential palace in Luanda. At 5:45 p.m. he will deliver an address to political leaders and the diplomatic corps.

At 7 p.m. the Pope will meet with bishops of Angola and Santo Tome in the chapel of the apostolic nunciature in Luanda.

The morning of Saturday, March 21, the Pontiff will celebrate Mass at St. Paul's in Luanda. At 4:30 p.m. he will meet with young people at Coquieros Stadium.

On Sunday, March 22, the Holy Father will celebrate Mass with bishops of IMBISA (Inter-Regional Meeting of the Bishops of Southern Africa) at Cimangola. That afternoon in the parish of St. Anthony in Luanda he will meet with Catholic movements that work for the promotion of women.

Benedict XVI will depart from Luanda for Rome on Monday, March 23.


May God bless the Pope and the Catholic Church in Africa, through the intercession of all the angels and saints in heaven; to Jesus Christ be praise!

WATCH HIM LIVE FROM EWTN!

For LIVE UPDATE, visit EWTN Papal Visit Live Coverage!


Here's the LIVE EWTN schedule:

Papal Visit to Cameroon: Arrival [60:00] LIVE
The Holy Father will arrive in Yaounde, Cameroon, where he will be greeted by the authorities.
Tue Mar 17 20:30 IST
Tue Mar 17 15:00 GMT
Tue Mar 17 11:00 ET

Papal Visit to Cameroon: Meeting with the Bishops of Cameroon [90:00] LIVE
Meeting with the Bishops of Cameroon in the church of Christ-Roi in Tsinga
Wed Mar 18 15:45 IST
Wed Mar 18 10:15 GMT
Wed Mar 18 6:15 ET

Papal Visit to Cameroon: Celebration of Vespers [90:00] LIVE
Celebration of Vespers with local clergy and representatives of ecclesial movements and of other Christian confessions in the basilica of Marie Reine des Apotres.
Wed Mar 18 21:15 IST
Wed Mar 18 15:45 GMT
Wed Mar 18 11:45 ET

Papal Visit to Cameroon: Holy Mass [2 Hours] LIVE
Celebration of Mass at Yaounde's Amadou Ahidjo stadium, to mark the publication of the "Instrumentum Laboris" of the Second Special Assembly for Africa of the Synod of Bishops.
Thu Mar 19 14:30 IST
Thu Mar 19 9:00 GMT
Thu Mar 19 5:00 ET

Papal Visit to Cameroon: Meeting with the Sick [2 Hours] LIVE
The Holy Father will meet with sick people in the Cardinal Paul Emile Leger Centre.
Thu Mar 19 21:00 IST
Thu Mar 19 15:30 GMT
Thu Mar 19 11:30 ET

Papal Visit to Cameroon: Farewell Ceremony [30:00] LIVE
Farewell ceremony at Nsimalen International Airport of Yaoundé.
Fri Mar 20 14:30 IST
Fri Mar 20 9:00 GMT
Fri Mar 20 5:00 ET

Papal Visit to Angola: Arrival [60:00] LIVE
The Pope will travel from Yaounde to the Angolan capital Luanda where there will be a welcoming ceremony at the airport.
Fri Mar 20 17:15 IST
Fri Mar 20 11:45 GMT
Fri Mar 20 7:45 ET

Papal Visit to Angola: Meeting with the President of Angola and members of the Diplomatic Corps [90:00] LIVE
Visit to the president of the Republic of Angola in the presidential palace in Luanda where he will also deliver an address to political leaders and the diplomatic corps.
Fri Mar 20 21:30 IST
Fri Mar 20 16:00 GMT
Fri Mar 20 12:00 ET

Papal Visit to Angola: Holy Mass [2 Hours] LIVE
Pope Benedict XVI will celebrate Mass in Luanda's church of Sao Paulo.
Sat Mar 21 14:30 IST
Sat Mar 21 9:00 GMT
Sat Mar 21 5:00 ET

Papal Visit to Angola: Meeting with young people [90:00] LIVE
Meeting with young people in the stadium of Coquieros.
Sat Mar 21 21:00 IST
Sat Mar 21 15:30 GMT
Sat Mar 21 11:30 ET

Papal Visit to Angola: Holy Mass with the Bishops of IMBISA [2 ½ Hours] LIVE
Celebration of Mass with bishops of IMBISA (Inter-Regional Meeting of the Bishops of Southern Africa) at Cimangola Square, followed by the Angelus.
Sun Mar 22 14:30 IST
Sun Mar 22 9:00 GMT
Sun Mar 22 5:00 ET

Papal Visit to Angola: Meeting with Catholic movements [60:00] LIVE
From the parish of Santo Antonio in Luanda the Holy Father will meet with Catholic movements for the promotion of women.
Sun Mar 22 21:15 IST
Sun Mar 22 15:45 GMT
Sun Mar 22 11:45 ET

Papal Visit to Angola: Farewell Ceremony [30:00] LIVE
Farewell ceremony at 4 de Fevereiro International Airport of Luanda.
Mon Mar 23 14:30 IST
Mon Mar 23 9:00 GMT
Mon Mar 23 5:00 ET

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are moderated by the blog owner.

Thank you and God bless you.

My Blog List

My Calendar

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...