"The Christianity of history is not Protestantism. If ever there were a safe truth it is this, and Protestantism has ever felt it so; to be deep in history is to cease to be a Protestant." (-John Henry Newman, An Essay on the Development of Christian Doctrine).

"Where the bishop is, there let the people gather; just as where ever Jesus Christ is, there is the Catholic Church". -St. Ignatius of Antioch (ca 110 AD)a martyr later thrown to the lions, wrote to a church in Asia Minor. Antioch was also where the term "Christian" was first used.

“But if I should be delayed, you should know how to behave in the household of God, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and foundation of truth.” 1 Timothy 3:15

"This is the sole Church of Christ, which in the Creed we profess to be one, holy, catholic and apostolic." -CCC 811

Friday, May 8, 2009

Papal Middle East Pilgrimage


Today, the Holy Father Pope Benedict XVI is scheduled to visit one of the "unsafest" place on earth next to Iraq which all monotheistic religions claim "HOLY LAND". Intense preparation is ongoing from Jordan to Palestine to Israel and all people how have been deprived of peaceful co-existence with their neighbors are eager to meet him hoping against all hope that through this historical visit of a dignified man of God they would be seeing a dawning day for a new Middle East.

I use to watch live updates from EWTN but our satellite doesn't have the right frequency so I have to rely on Arabic TV news channels for streaming live coverage which I am not sure if gian news TV channels would make it available for us to see ever detail of his Middles East trip.

Among the preparations way ahead his arrival are the cities where he'd be passing by. The American Catholic made a special blog entirely covering Pope Benedict XVI's visit. The owner of the blog already uploaded very touching photos on how Arabs are going to welcome the Holy Father (see it here).

In the meantime I need to keep my internet line open for fresh updates. While we're watching, let's pray with the Holy Father that this pilgrimage visit will foster love, respect and tolerance among our elder brethren--the Jews and our younger brethren-- the Muslims.

Shalom!

Salam!
------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's the Schedule of Live TV Coverage by EWTN:

ARRIVAL AND VISIT TO THE REGINA PACIS CENTER (2hr)
Pope Benedict XVI begins his visit to the Holy Land. He will arrive at Queen Alia airport in the Jordanian capital, Amman after which he will visit the Regina Pacis center.
Fri 5/08/09 7:30 AM ET / 4:30 AM PT LIVE
Fri 5/08/09 9:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM PT

VISIT TO THE KING AND QUEEN OF JORDAN (1hr)
Fri 5/08/09 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT LIVE
Fri 5/08/09 11:30 PM ET / 8:30 PM PT

MOUNT NEBO & MADABA ( 1 3/4 hrs)
In the morning he will visit the Memorial of Moses on Mount Nebo, and bless the cornerstone of the Patriarchate of Jerusalem's Madaba University. He will then visit the Hashemite Museum and the Mosque of al-Hussein bin Talal in Amman, and he will meet with Muslim religious leaders, the diplomatic corps and rectors of Jordanian universities.
Sat 5/09/09 2:15 AM ET / (Fri) 11:15 PM PT LIVE
Sat 5/09/09 1:00 PM ET/ 10 AM PT

POPE BENEDICT XVI IN THE HOLY LAND
MEETING WITH MUSLIM LEADERS (1 hr)
Sat 5/09/09 4:30 AM ET / 1:30 AM PT LIVE
Sat 5/09/09 4:00 PM ET / 1 PM PT

VESPERS (90 min)
Pope Benedict XVI will preside at the celebration of Vespers with priests, religious, seminarians and ecclesial movements in the Greek-Melkite cathedral of St. George in Amman.
Sat 5/09/09 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT LIVE
Sat 5/09/09 6:00 PM ET / 3 PM PT

MASS IN AMMAN (2 1/2 hrs)
The Holy Father will celebrate Mass and pray the Regina Coeli at the international stadium in Amman.
Sun 5/10/09 3:00 AM ET / 12 AM PT LIVE
Sun 5/10/09 2:00 PM ET / 11 AM PT

BETHANY BEYOND THE JORDAN (90 mins)
The Holy Father will visit Bethany Beyond the Jordan, site of the Lord's Baptism, where he will bless the cornerstones of the Latin and Greek-Melkite churches.
Sun 5/10/09 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT LIVE
Sun 5/10/09 9:00 PM ET / 6 PM PT

DEPARTURE FROM AMMAN (30 min)

Mon 5/11/09 3:00 AM ET/ 12 AM PT LIVE
Mon 5/11/09 2:30 PM ET / 11:30 AM PT

ARRIVAL IN ISRAEL (30 min)
Pope Benedict XVI arrives in Tel Aviv, Israel, where the welcome ceremony is due to take place at Ben Gurion airport.
Mon 5/11/09 4:00 AM ET / 1 AM PT LIVE
Mon 5/11/09 5:00 PM / 2 PM PT

POPE BENEDICT XVI IN THE HOLY LAND

VISIT TO PRESIDENT SHIMON PERES (1hr)
The Holy Father makes a courtesy visit to the president of Israel at the presidential palace in Jerusalem.
Mon 5/11/09 9:00 AM ET/ 6 AM PT LIVE
Mon 5/11/09 5:30 PM ET/ 2:30 PM PT

YAD VASHEM (2 1/2 hrs)
Pope Benedict XVI will visit the Yad Vashem Memorial and hold a meeting with organizations for inter-religious dialogue at the Pontifical Institute Notre Dame of Jerusalem Center.
Mon 5/11/09 10:30 AM ET/ 7:30 AM PT LIVE
Mon 5/11/09 8:00 PM ET/ 5 PM PT

DOME OF THE ROCK (4 hrs)
Pope Benedict XVI will visit the Dome of the Rock on Temple Mount in Jerusalem and meet the Grand Mufti. He will also visit the Western Wall and meet with the two Chief Rabbis of Israel at the Hechal Shlomo Centre. At midday he is due to pray the Regina Coeli with ordinaries of the Holy Land in the Cenacle of Jerusalem and to make a brief visit to the co-cathedral of the Latins.

Tue 5/12/09 2:00 AM ET / (Mon) 11 PM PT LIVE
Tue 5/12/09 1:00 PM ET / 10 AM PT

MASS IN THE JOSAFAT VALLEY (2hrs)
Tue 5/12/09 9:30 AM ET / 6:30 AM PT
Tue 5/12/09 7:00 PM ET / 4 PM PT

MASS IN BETHLEHEM (3 hrs)
The Holy Father will deliver an address on the square in front of the presidential palace in Bethlehem then celebrate Mass in Manger Square
Wed 5/13/09 2:00 AM ET / (Tue) 11 PM LIVE
Wed 5/13/09 5:00 PM ET / 2 PM PT

CHURCH OF THE NATIVITY (4 hrs)
Pope Benedict XVI will visit the Grotto of the Nativity, and then will travel to the Caritas Baby Hospital and, shortly thereafter, to the Aida Refugee Camp, where he will deliver an address. He will then make a courtesy visit to the president of the Palestine National Authority in the presidential palace of Bethlehem, after which the departure ceremony will take place on the square in front of the palace.
Wed 5/13/09 8:30 AM ET / 5:30 AM PT LIVE
Wed 5/13/09 9:00 PM ET / 6 PM PT


MASS ON THE MOUNT OF PRECIPICE IN NAZARETH (2 hrs)
Thu 5/14/09 3:00 AM ET/ 12 AM PT LIVE
Thu 5/14/09 6:00 PM ET / 3 PM PT

MEETING WITH PM BENJAMIN NETANYAHU (3 hrs)
The Holy Father will meet the Israeli prime minister in the city's Franciscan convent, greet religious leaders of Galilee in the auditorium of the Basilica of the Annunciation. Later he will travel to the Grotto of the Annunciation where he will preside at Vespers with bishops, priests, religious, ecclesial movements and pastoral workers.
Thu 5/14/09 8:45 AM ET / 5:45 AM PT
Thu 5/14/09 9:00 PM ET / 6 PM PT

ECUMENICAL MEETING AND THE HOLY SEPULCHER (3hrs)
The Holy Father will attend an ecumenical meeting at the Greek Orthodox Patriarchate. Afterwards he will visit the Holy Sepulchre and the Armenian patriarchal church of St. James in Jerusalem.
Fri 5/15/09 2:15 AM ET / (Thu) 11 PM PT LIVE
Fri 5/15/09 3:30 PM ET / 12:30 PM PT

DEPARTURE TO ROME (1hr)
Fri 5/15/09 6:30 AM ET/ 3:30 AM PT LIVE
Fri 5/15/09 11:00 PM ET/ 8 PM PT

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are moderated by the blog owner.

Thank you and God bless you.

My Blog List

My Calendar

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...